Committed to my job, but soon the nut house

27 03 2008

This nutrition seminar is turning my brain to mush.  Soon you’ll find me in the corner, muttering about percent daily values and eating my own hair.

 So today I decided to go for a run outside which tends to de-stress me more so than and indoor workout.  So I headed to the school across the street.

100_0577.jpg

They have a nice set of staris that I like to run also.

100_0425.jpg

The weather wasn’t perfect but it wasn’t raining. Until it started raining. Because this is springtime in Seattle.

I did a loop of stairs, track, stairs, track over and over and then i did a loop around the block and went home, because if I get sick I very well may die. I haven;t been sick in a long time and I have a feeling it is going to come soon, with a vengence.

There wasn’t much rhyme or reason to my running, as is that case with most of my workouts, so I cant really provide specifics. Today was sort of boring, my apologies. No, wait, I take that back. I’m not sorry. That’s just how some days are, and YOU come here to see what I do, so here there it is.

I will be posting lower body exercises tomorrow. Im only going to do a few but I have a ton, so I will do new ones every so often. I can’t show you all my best at once, can I? What would keep you coming back? My excellent proofreading ability?

Actions

Information

17 responses

27 03 2008
ChocolateCoveredVegan

Actually, the stairs/schoolyard looks like a great place for a run– not boring at all!

I knew it! My dog is a rat terrier too :o). I think he’s a medium; when we adopted him, he was sooo little, because he had been abused and was just skin and bones. But now he’s a healthy little ball of energy!

27 03 2008
freepersonaltrainer

Awww i wish I had porkchop when he was a puppy. I always wondered what he looked like all tiny. I only got him a year ago, hes almost 3 now. He still has a puppy streak in him, though, that’s for sure.
My dog growing up was abused and we saved him from a shelter. He had a BB in his leg and we had to get all of his teeth removed because they were rotting so bad they were making him sick. He was really weird around company and would pee when he got overly excited. It was sad, but we loved him twice as much to make up for his owners before.
Are your dog’s knees really pink? Porkchops kind of hairless in areas and i thought it was a puppy thing, but now that hes older its kind of weirding me out.

27 03 2008
Rachel

If you do lower body exercises tomorrow, do you think you could include and inner thigh exercise (one without machines)? Would you say side lunges are the best- they hurt my knees, so I try to avoid them.

Similarly, I do reverse lunges b/c they are easier on my knee. What leg am I supposed to push off of to get back up? The one in the back or front?

27 03 2008
Rachel

Oh opps, to add, when I come back up from the lunge am I supposed to be all the way straight again?

27 03 2008
Rachel

Kelly L,

You mentioned you do pilates. Do you feel it’s slimed your waist. My problem area is definitely my waist and poor posture. They are really expensive so I have hesitated doing the reformer class (I tried a mat class but don’t like it). Does it just work on your core or do your arms and legs get a workout too? thanks!

27 03 2008
Clara

hey, thanks for your great blog 🙂

I have a couple cardio questions –
sometimes I cant get outside to run or get to the gym so I do an inhome circuit thing combining strength moves and 1-5 minutes intervals of jogging in place/jumping jacks. I like to alternate the jumping jacks and jogging in place for the cardio or else it gets really boring and painful and long when I am doing, say, the 5 minute intervals. But I’ve noticed that after I do jumping jacks my right ankle hurts after a few days of doing them =\ Any suggestions on ways to strengthen my weak ankles so I can continue doing jumping jacks?!

also, do you think that doing approximately 20 minutes (in the 1-5 minute intervals, in between strength moves) of the jogging inplace/jumping jacks is a substantial calorie burner? I get really sweaty just like I do when running, so is the calorie burn similiar to 20 minutes of that to 20 minutes of running (it probably wouldn’t be as much, but at least kind of close?)

thanks again for your time!
🙂

27 03 2008
Cara

Were kids in class during the run? Looks like a great place to run for sure though, and you are never boring 😉

27 03 2008
MizFit

ahhhh jealous of the stairs running 🙂

when my toddler tornado is a little older (read: more coordinated) Im back out there with you!

MizFIt

27 03 2008
MizFit

ahhhh jealous of the stairs running 🙂

when my toddler tornado is a little older (read: more coordinated) Im back out there with you!

MizFIt

27 03 2008
Lindsey

Hi, I have two questions. Are there any alternative quad stretches to the type where you pull your knee back? It’s kinda rough on my knees.

Also, when I do lunges are squats I definitely feel it in my quads and some in my butt, but nothing in my hamstring. Any recommended hamstring exercises. I tried hamstring curls, but ankle weights feel too weird for me!

27 03 2008
Lindsey

I should add, if I don’t feel it in my hamstrings does that mean I am doing them wrong?

27 03 2008
LinzE

Any tips for spare tires and love handles?

27 03 2008
Eliza

lindsey! you should do the ones that she suggests in one of the earlier blogs. it is amazing! you basically lay on your back with your feet up on a ball and pull the blog one
more advanced would be to use one leg at a time

27 03 2008
ChocolateCoveredVegan

LOL, I don’t think Henry (my dog) has really pink knees. I’ve never noticed it before.

He’s such a silly little guy, though. Every time he does something bad and we yell at him, he’ll roll right over and stick his little legs in the air, like “I’m sorry! Now pet me!” You can’t stay mad at him!

27 03 2008
freepersonaltrainer

Rachel- push off the front leg, more specifically, through the heel on your front leg. You’ll feel it through the entire back of your front leg. All the one legged moves i will post will work your inner thigh. All one legged moves will work the inner thigh because you will need those muscles to stabilize the knees.

Clara- to strengthen your ankle, do resisted ankle abduction. PLace a resistance band around your shoe, the whole way from your toe to your heel, and pull toward the inside of your body. roll ankle to the outside, away from the resistance. I dont know if i explained that well, if you dont understand, let me know.
Circuits are definately substantial calorie burners. as long as your heat rate is up and you are sweating and breathing heavily, its working. I dont know if it is exactly the same as running because it depends on your heart rate during the circuit as opposed to your heart rate running, but it definately counts.

Cara- no it was after school. I know if i am allowed over there during school, so i just dont even try. School is out by the time i get home from work and ready to do anything, anyway.

Mizfit- you should carry him on your back. That would be intense. He might get shaken baby syndrome though.

Lindsey- eliza is right, heel tucks are the best for hamstrings. when doing lunges though, push through your heel. your weight should always be on your heel, you should feel it then. squats primarily work the quads, though so dont worry there. i dont know of any other quad stretches. i think thats about it. if it hurts your knee, try doing it sitting down, maybe. take soem pressure off.

Eliza- Im glad you like them! they are my favorite. Maybe because you get to lay down.

LinzE- Im going to do a core, ab post soon. In the mean time try and work your back and abs equally. do back extensions, crunches and side crunches. work the whole way around.

CCV- porkchop does that too! and he bares his teeth when he gets yelled at, not in an aggressive way, more so like hes scared or sorry. It happens a lot because he can jump about 5 feet in the air and get anything. Hes growing out of his chewing phase though, thank god. I lost a few good pairs of shoes that way. Do you have pictures on your site? I wanna see him.

28 03 2008
ChocolateCoveredVegan

I do! In fact, I just posted a pic of Henry (he’s very photogenic hehe). But my favorite pic of Henry can be found here: http://howtogainweightonavegandiet.blogspot.com/2007/09/bathtime-for-molly-and-henry.html

(It’s the picture above the caption “Singing in the rain”)

28 03 2008
freepersonaltrainer

AWWW he’s so cute! i thought you meant the first one and i was like, uhhhhh i think this girl is a little confused, but then I saw him. Soo cute and just like porkchop, except littler.

Leave a Reply

